Virginia Beach DUI Attorneys

Protecting Your License and Criminal Record

People are often unaware that they have the right to contest DUI/DWI charges. They also do not realize that pleading guilty is the equivalent of a conviction and that it will remain on their record for life.

If you were charged with DUI/DWI in Virginia, we can help you fight the charge. The Dickerson & Smith Law Group provides experienced, aggressive criminal defense against DUI charges, including Breathalyzer test refusal. We represent college students, adults, out-of-state tourists and members of the military. Please call 757-828-0031 or 800-506-8133 to arrange an appointment or speak with one of our Virginia Beach DUI lawyers today.

A Conviction Will Affect Your Life for Years

A DUI has serious consequences. If it occurred on federal property, it will be charged as a federal crime. You can lose professional licenses, including commercial driver's licenses, if you are convicted of any DUI charge. You may also see a drastic increase in auto insurance premiums or have your coverage terminated.

In Virginia, a first DUI offense is a first-degree misdemeanor. If convicted, you may face the following penalties:

  • Possible jail time
  • Fines ranging from $250 to $2,500
  • Suspension of your driver's license for one year
  • Community service
  • Alcohol treatment and/or education

In addition, if your blood alcohol content (BAC) is .15 percent or more, you must have an ignition interlock device installed on your vehicle at your expense.

It is critical to have an experienced attorney represent you as soon as possible. We will examine the circumstances of your arrest, including the police procedure. If you took field sobriety tests and/or a Breathalyzer test, we will examine the conditions under which the tests were given. If the tests were not properly conducted, we can argue for the results to be suppressed. We can also help you obtain a restricted driver's license that will allow you to drive to work, school and certain appointments.

Contact a Chesapeake Drunk Driving Charge Lawyer

To schedule an appointment, please call 757-828-0031 or 800-506-8133, or contact us online.